OpenNMS authentication againts OpenLDAP

Adding multiple user for LDAP Authentication and assiginig permission in OpenNMS

Dear Team,

Task: “With one account, any user can login to their given system. A local admin account still needs to be present on all servers in the event of a LDAP failure. Each customer has their own group for their giver servers. No power access is to be given to customers.”

I am totally new to this NMS & LDAP stuff. I was asked to handle this project alone and I am totally depend on google and OpenNMS wiki space. I couldn’t find much details in the net on this regards. Ne

I tried to integrate OpenNMS with OpenLDAP and I managed to do this 50% and I got stuck at the point where I have to add multiple users/ customers for LDAP authentication and assigning permission to them in NMS. And one more point, I am not able to login using port 8980 but without port number (eg: http://my-server-ip/). Once I loedin I get “Access Denied” page in NMS.

In production we are using OpenNMS v 1.12 on Ubuntu 14.04, I am trying this on the same version in AWS EC2 instances.

I need you guys help to move forward from this point and complete this project.

Thanks.

I’ve setup login with AD, so I can’t speak specifically to OpenLDAP. But OpenNMS will auth with a local account if there is not a username match in your LDAP server.

Can you share the steps of your implementation? I want to see the config of the xml file in the NMS server

Here is an example How to authenticate against Microsoft Active Directory Services. It explains a use case where permissions and access to OpenNMS are controlled with two user groups, one for normal users and a second one for users with administrative permissions. Technically you need an additional account in LDAP which is called the bind user. This account is just used to query LDAP from OpenNMS.