Help with creating dashlets and saving them

dashlets
opsboard

Hi I am brand new to using OpenNMS. I am running Horizon version 23.0.1 on Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit. I want to have a user that logs in directly to a page. I have created the user but the page I created with dashlets does not get saved out. Can someone point me to where I can get help for this?

Thanks.

0 Likes

When you say, “logs in directly to a page”, by that do you mean to describe the behavior of after logging in, the user is automatically redirected to a dashboard configured for their account?

David Hustace
The OpenNMS Group

0 Likes

Yes that is what we want to do. I can create the ops board to look how I want but as soon as I restart the application, all of the configurations go away. I had one of my co-workers take a look and he thinks an exception is being thrown when I am creating the dashlets.

Thanks.

0 Likes

Hey, it doesn’t should like we are discussing the same thing. We have a dashboard and we have opsboards. Opsboards are generally used for shared Operation’s displays and not per user so we don’t have a feature to associate an Ops board with a user account. You can use our dashboard feature to accomplish this use case but I would highly recommend using Grafana with our Helm plugin to accomplish use case as apposed to the built-in dashboard. The Helm dashboard is definitely the direction of the product to handle this request.

0 Likes

Thanks. I will look at that approach. I am not able to get my opsboards to be permanent. As soon as I restart OpenNMS, everything I have created goes away.
Any thoughts on that?

Thanks.

Linda

0 Likes